Lok Sabha, Assembly bypolls Live Updates: A triangular contest between SP, BJP and BSP in Azamgarh

1 week ago 6

Bye-elections for 3 Lok Sabha seats and 7 Assembly seats are being held Thursday. The results are scheduled to beryllium announced connected June 26.

The Lok Sabha seats see Azamgarh successful Uttar Pradesh, which fell vacant aft Samajwadi Party (SP) person Azam Khan was elected to the authorities Assembly; Rampur, besides successful UP, which is vacant aft SP main Akhilesh Yadav was elected to the Assembly; and Sangrur successful Punjab, wherever polls were necessitated aft Bhagwant Mann resigned arsenic MP to contention the Assembly elections earlier this twelvemonth from Dhuri. He won and was sworn successful arsenic the Chief Minister.

The Assembly seats going to polls are Atmakur successful Andhra Pradesh; Rajinder Nagar successful Delhi; Surma, Jubarajnagar, Town Bardowali, and Agartala successful Tripura; and Mandar successful Jharkhand.

The bypolls are being held a week aft convulsive protests broke retired crossed the state against the Centre’s caller Agnipath strategy for subject recruitments. This has emerged arsenic an issue successful each the 3 Lok Sabha seats going to polls today, making the bye-elections challenging for the BJP.

The Rajinder Nagar bypoll successful Delhi, meanwhile, which has been necessitated aft AAP’s Raghav Chadha was nominated to the Rajya Sabha, has seen a high-voltage campaign, with the enactment heavyweights hitting the trail up of the elections. The BJP has fielded Rajesh Bhatia arsenic its candidate, the AAP has fixed summons to Durgesh Pathak, and Congress to Prem Lata.

In Tripura, the bye-elections are being held hardly 8 months up of the wide Assembly elections adjacent year, and is considered important for Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha who replaced Biplab Kumar Deb lone past month. The dentist-turned person is himself a campaigner and is warring his first-ever nonstop predetermination to prevention his CM seat.

Andhra Pradesh’s ruling YSR Congress Party has a wide edge successful the bypoll for the Atmakur Assembly constituency. The enactment is assured of a cakewalk due to the fact that the main absorption party—the Telugu Desam Party—is not contesting, isolated from Congress. The YSR Congress Party’s main rival is the BJP, which has hardly immoderate beingness successful the constituency successful the state’s Nellore district.

At Kakkarwal colony successful Punjab, wherever voting began astatine 8 am. (Express Photo)

The BJP, Congress and an Independent candidate, Dev Kumar Dhan, are successful contention for Jharkhand’s Mandar seat. The bypoll is being held aft the disqualification of Bandhu Tirkey arsenic an MLA successful the aftermath of his condemnation successful a corruption case. The Congress, an state of the ruling JMM-led government, hopes to clasp the spot reserved for ST.

Read Entire Article